Its all about MOJO

February 21, 2016

I have not posted in a very long time.  I just lost the journaling mojo.  I am not sure that its back but I have been pondering topics for the past few days. ( So that does means that I am interested.  ) Basically I have made a few decisions..  One is to put my quest to pass my CPP on a back burner.  It was stressing me out to the extreme.  Sometimes putting something aside feels good.  Its a deep cleansing breath.

I turned 60 last month.  A milestone!  My family, consisting of my children and their SO’s along with, my siblings, inlaws and  nephews and my childhood friend  from high school all got together. They rented an old farmhouse near a local mountain. They  bought lift tickets and we had an old fashioned family  ski weekend.  It could not have been better!.  I have to say its the only birthday party ever thrown for me and it was the best.

12541050_10206525067779826_3789175781256447260_n

We have been skiing since we were kids and I feel so blessed to have such a great family!

I have since been skiing every other week as my job allows and even though I am 60 I feel 30.  Its good to be  on the slopes I love the speed and fresh air.

Over the past few years I picked up knitting.  Its been a bucket list thing for me.  My grandmother on my mothers side taught me to knit as a kid.  I tinkered with it on and off only to disappoint my self with my results.  Finally in my 50’s I tried again and this time I was hooked.  I have knit a lot of things over the years but my passion is socks.  I was gifted a pair of hand knit socks and oh my gosh… They are like crack. You cannot have just ONE pair.  They feel so nice on my feet.

My sock journey had taken many twists and turns. There are the socks that did not fit.  They were an exercise in technique. Just because they did not fit me, does not mean that I did not learn something.    The ones that were too small, I gave to  my daughter. She wears them to bed to stay warm. The ones that were too large, I wear to bed to keep my feet warm.  Then there  are the pairs that fit just right.  I have tinkered with different stitch counts.  Measured and done math.  Changed the needle size. But all in all, I just love the precision of a hand knit sock.

A hand knit sock gently hugs your ankle.  Have you ever noticed that at the end of the day, when you remove your store bought socks that divot that circles your ankle?   Hand knit socks do not leave that divot.  Bam!!!!!  Your foot and ankle are wrapped in gentle comfort for the entire day.  Ahhh..  a slice of heavenly comfort.

I purchase shoes based on how they will fit with a hand knit sock.  In my drawer, there are some store-bought socks.   Yes, those suckers that leave a divot in my ankle, come out of their time-out place and are put to use in the summer.   They are as uncomfortable as all get out!  My poor ankles need  time to adjust to the stranglehold those nasty things have on them.  Store bought socks make me itch..  I have yet to find a pair that don’t.

I am not afraid of putting a lot of work and time into a pair of socks.  Hand knit socks can be darned.  I know darning is a lost art, but I darn my socks when I wear a hole in the bottom.  It increases the life span of a hand knit sock by years.  I will darn over darning and if done properly your foot does not recognize the difference between a sock stitch and a darned spot.  LOL  just ask me how I know.

According to the Yarn Harlot, there are approximately 20,0000 stitches in a pair of socks.  For me a quick sock knit takes 2 weeks. For faster knitters it takes 2 days. I always have sock knitting in my handbag. And yes you guessed it!  I choose handbags based on whether or not a sock project can fit in it.  If I have a moment, I bang out a few stitches.  I may just be on a bus heading out to a day of skiing…  Yup!  My knitting is with me, as well as a light on the brim of my baseball cap.  Back to darning, the more socks you have the less you have to darn.  Yes, true fact!..  By circulating many pairs your put less stress on 1 or 2 pair.  Now, I think you may see how this becomes addicting.  How could one not want bazillion pair of these fabulous beasts?

0069

First pair of socks!!  The ones that were too small!

 

 

 

One Response to “Its all about MOJO”

  1. lynn Says:

    Wear your hand knit socks in the summer time, also. If they are too tall for your liking in the summer, knit shorter socks for summer wear. Wool/wool blend socks will keep your feet cooler and more comfortable than cotton socks. Wool wicks the moisture away from the skin. Give it a try.


Leave a comment