Ski Day!!

February 29, 2016

Yesterday  was a great day!…  I went skiing with my sister!!  We have been hanging around and skiing for more than 50 years.  My sis was responsible for helping my daughter plan my 60th birthday weekend blast!   We went to my favorite mountain Gore.  Between the lousy weather and my lousy work schedule skiing this year is lousy.  That is a bunch of lousy’s.  Yesterday may well have been my last day to ski this year.  But any day that I get to ski with my sister is a great day.  I am blessed with wonderful siblings.  I would have loved to get to Vermont to ski with my brother but Vermont just did not work out this year.

IMG_2769

Here is the obligatory selfie.  I was truly hoping for better conditions.  I keep hoping for conditions like the February 11th day.  That was the best day this year for me.

My sis and I needed a short break so we dropped into the Saddle Lodge.  If I get back to Gore I will put my lunch in a knapp sac and leave it at the Saddle Lodge.  Peg had never been there.  It sits at 3000 feet and the view is gorgeous !

IMG_2779

Of course, I made her pose for a photo.  Its tough to have a sister that is a photographer.  Even though these are iPhone snapshots, they are a record of our fun.

The lack of snow is disheartening.  All of  the trails that do not have snowmaking are closed.  I do not remember a winter like this last one.  I privately call it the un-winter.

IMG_2770

I am used to seeing these areas packed with mothers natures bountiful fluffy white snow. Snow in the Adirondacks is usually quite plentiful.  I worry about drought in the coming months.  We rely on the melting the snow pack to recharge water tables and drinking water supplies.  However the skies were beautiful blue and the view from the top of Gore was breathtaking.

FullSizeRender-9

Of course there is knitting involved.  Peg drove so I got to have some knitting time.

IMG_2768

I am working on yet another pair of socks.  I just cannot get out of the sock mojo.  The project is small, portable and for now socks entertain me.  I like to take a picture of me knitting where ever I am.

IMG_2790

When I grew up my mother’s, mother lived with us.  Bema (my word for grandma) always had knitting on her lap or next to her chair.  She was always knitting us mittens, hats, slippers.  I LOVED the hand knit mittens.  They were the DPN pattern and I do not have any pair that she made left.  I do have a pair my mother made.  I am afraid to wear them, because I do not want to loose them.  They were the last pair she knit for me and that was back when I was in college. Every stitch is a stitch made with love.  It’s that thought, that makes me want to gift hand knits to my children and siblings.  If the culture of their home does not have the time to hand wash knits, I use a yarn that fits their home.  Its a double win. I get to gift a hand knit, and they get something that is easy to care for, handmade by me.

Tomorrow is Monday.  Its the beginning of my  “7 on”. So I will be working 10 hour days, and getting 8 hours of rest.  Of course I may knit while I have my morning coffee.  🙂

 

Leave a comment