UFO’s aka Unfinished Objects!

March 11, 2016

While some knitters like to have several projects going at once I prefer to do the monogamous thing and knit one project at a time.  BUT I must confess.  I have 4 UFO’s.  I am hanging my head in shame. I feel dirty and slutty.  I can’t remember what project seduced me away from my monogamy, but I must admit I do have those little voices in my head popping up now and then that remind me that they are there, in the closet, in their own Rubbermaid tote.  I have them in isolation.  I can’t let them rub elbows  with the stash.  God forbid they mingle with the stash!

There is that pretty skein of Quivit/Merino that decided it deserved to be “Pretty Thing” by the Harlot.  It’s lace.  Yeah, lace is a 4 letter word, to me.

IMG_2845

The chart ends the round with a YO and that confuses the snot out of me.  Four restarts and it sits in time out.   Yup, that “Pretty Thing” ain’t so purdy! But it is pretty enough not to be frogged.

Then there is a toddler sweater.  Seed stitch and cables.  WHAT was I thinking. Yeah, the design elements are apparent in the pix below!

IMG_2843

I have this notion in the back of my head that I want to knit myself a Starmore out of yarn that I spin. The hogget Cheviot fleece is all prepared and lives under my bed, in a ginormous vacuum bag.    So the toddler sweater I figured was a good way to brush up on charts and sweater construction.  But you really need to pay attention to charts…  It is not mindless knitting.  The toddler sweater also has too much work invested “to hit the frog pile”.

Then there is the Rhinebeck sweater.  Yes, in the fall when the leaves are putting on their show, there is “Rhinebeck”.  The New York State Sheep and Wool Festival.  AKA Mecca for fiber aficionados.

It is kind of a tradition to knit yourself a sweater to show off your prowess with the needles.  So I knit hard on that puppy and it was not ready for Rhinebeck. It was not ready a year later either.

IMG_2842

So it also sits with too much progress to frog, but a couple of times I have tried to pick it up to finish, I cannot figure out where I left off.  I have lost/misplaced my notes…  This may go to the frog party held every January at my local LYS.  I have to be realistic.  Am I ever going to find where to begin again?

Last, are my Cashmere Flamingo colorwork mittens. Flamingos?  You ask?  Really?  WTH! Why am I am worried about flamingos on a pair of mittens?  The novelty struck me… After all, I donated a flock of flamingos for a fundraiser for a local youth ballet company.   Yup, for $25 cool ones I can have a flock of flamingos placed in your front yard.  Surprise, surprise, surprise!  I have flocked others and been flocked!  It’s a gas!

IMG_2844

As with the toddler sweater, this is not mindless knitting.  You have to pay attention to the charts and switch colors all the while managing the float.  The float is yarn you must carry along on the wrong side.  The float cannot be too long, or too tight.  I need to pay attention to work on these.   They are however a small project and fit the small carry around type knitting.  They are definitely not going to be frogged.  These may very well be the next thing I rescue after I finish my present pair of socks.  Well  maybe, I hedge a bit here.

Summer socks are next on my agenda.  I have a decent amount of leftovers to make wool socks for summer.  Short leg to wear with a pair of Tevas at work for the summer.  That voice reminding me about my UFO’s may just have to have to have a bag placed over its head.  I still have my sock mojo going strong and get excited thinking how fast I can churn out a pair of low rise socks!

 

 

2 Responses to “UFO’s aka Unfinished Objects!”


  1. Oh how I wish I had such restraint as you when it comes to UFOs! I have so many WIPs, I’ve lost count. I frogged all the ones I knew I wasn’t going to finish at the beginning of the year & made a resolution to finish at least 2 before starting a new one. It’s going well so far – I think I may have even finished more than a 2 for 1 as well!


Leave a comment