In Cahoots!

March 29, 2016

Some days I feel like there are forces in place that are in cahoots with my mojo.  My mojo does not want to go to work today.   I worked the day after a holiday yesterday.  I have forgotten how gosh darn awful that really is.  Apparently everyone takes a grumpy pill and somehow I missed the memo.  I usually work the holiday and the people I serve are all nice and kind and gush over  how nice you are to work on the holiday.  Well, hells bells!  In my line of work, I work 7 days in a row. Followed by 7 days off.  So I plan my life events around the 7 days off.  So if a holiday falls on the 7 days  you work, it’s your holiday.  So I have worked the last Thanksgiving, Christmas, Martin Luther King, Presidents week, you name it, so when Easter fell on a week off I was ecstatic! It’s nice to have a clean house and a family dinner.  Then there is Monday otherwise know as Easter Monday or if one is from the Buffalo area Dingus Day!  In my health care world, it is better known as a day to use a PTO day, or pay attention to the memo and take your grumpy pill.  Last, my mind has mentally slipped out of my current sock project.

I have not knit a stitch in a week.  Horrors!!  I am stuck on the second sock gusset.  I can console myself with the thought that my daughters friend is having a baby girl.  She and I  spend a good hour perusing baby sweater patterns on Ravelry Easter Sunday.  Everything she picked out had yarn overs and lace.  Those that know me well, know that somehow lace confounds me. I prefer to avoid “lace” for something as important as a baby sweater!  I stash dove found a lovely grey cashmere blend in DK weight and after rejecting a lot of suggestions from my daughter I went into a book of patterns I have and found a cute owl cable thingy.  But it’s knit from the bottom up and I am a top down gal. I have DK weight yarn and the pattern is written for worsted.   So I sit and look at this pattern again and again.  I think that by casting on a size up I can overcome the yarn weight issue.  I always make baby sweaters larger than newborn.  I prefer to make a 12 to 18-month size.  Babys receive so many things in the small sizes, I like to have something for a bit later.  I am going to commit as soon as I finish the socks.

FullSizeRender-13

Now if you have read some previous blogs you will remember that I had plans to make summer short leg socks.  I suppose monogamy does not suit me at this time.  My grandmother Bema would call me a tart.  My friend Bev would call me a slut.  Others may prefer whore or strumpet!  But it looks like I may be jumping off the sock wagon if only for a bit!

 

Leave a comment